Casey Neill


Big Bridges was the brainchild of Japanese rock guitarist Takashi O'hashi in collaboration with musicians in Portland, Oregon. Songwriters Casey Neill and Kathryn Claire wrote the lyrics and sang the songs with all the music composed by O'hashi. Bassist Allen Hunter and drummer Derek Brown formed the rhythm section. Big Bridges toured Japan three times in sold out venues packed by Takashi’s devoted fan base. They have been featured on Oregon Public Broadcasting radio show 'State of Wonder' and performed throughout the Pacific Northwest. The songs carry a thematic thread of international travel and relocation that echo the cross cultural nature of the project. They released one full length record 'Will to Ascend' (2015) and one EP 'Raise the Periscope' (2016).


Casey is among the ranks predominantly in the Pacific NW, but sometimes Mexico and Baltimore.

The Minus 5 is a rock/folk/pop collective captained by Scott McCaughey (see: “Scott McCaughey” c/o “The Internet”, for further reliable information), with Peter Buck often aboard as communications officer. By design from its inception, the line-up for recordings and live appearances is completely fluid, dependent on musician availability, whim, and wind direction. Collaborators regularly feature friends from Wilco, Decemberists, Posies, and literally hundreds and hundreds of other recalcitrant comrade combos. Everyone gives their all, and no one can be counted on. On Record Store Day, April 19, 2014, the Minus 5 released its ninth official long-player, the all-new five-LP, 57-song, 211-minute set Scott The Hoople In The Dungeon Of Horror, on long-time home Yep Roc Records. The sprawling but concise work benefits from the participation of both the usual and new suspects, like John Moen, Jeff Tweedy, Bill Rieflin, Linda Pitmon, Nate Query, Jenny Conlee, Ian McLagan, Laura Gibson, Joe Adragna, Ezra Holbrook, Wesley Stace, Casey Neill and more. Scott The Hoople’s future remains uncertain. As does YOURS.


A duo with Irish accordionist Johnny B Connolly. Focusing on traditional Scots/Irish songs and instrumentals with a few originals in the mix too.

It’s been 15 years since Casey Neill and Johnny B. Connolly embarked on a cross country US tour. Fast forward to 2018 and they are together again with songs and instrumentals from the Scots/Irish and American traditions as well as a selection of originals. Johnny Connolly was born and raised in Dublin, Ireland where his dexterity on the accordion earned him a place with the established Celtic ensemble, Anam, at the age of seventeen. For the past few years, Johnny has been touring as a member of internationally acclaimed Irish band Solas and is featured on their latest CD ‘All These Years’. Casey Neill is a songwriter and guitarist who tours extensively in the US, Japan, and Europe. He performs solo and with his band The Norway Rats. Neill has a long history in the traditional folk world having worked with masters of Scots/Irish music such as Kevin Burke, Johnny Cunningham, and Martin Hayes.


SPEAK OUT: Live from the Newport Folk Festival

Live at PICKATHON series

- Casey Neill Trio 'Kitty' (live)
- Casey Neill & Kevin Burke 'Lucy Campbell and the Jolly Tinker' (live), Casey Neill & Little Sue 'Chinquapin' (live)

HOLD ME UP TO THE LIGHT: a tribute to Peter Wilde
Casey Neill & Little Sue ‘Carnival’


SASSPARILLA - duet vocals on 'All the Way In'
LITTLE SUE - duet vocals on Casey Neill song 'Chinquapin'
COLLEN RANEY - backup guitar on Irish/American singer's album 'Lark'
JAN BELL - Casey and Jan duet Billy Bragg's 'Between the Wars' on her record 'Dream of the Miner's Child' with mandolin from Be Good Tanya's Samantha Parton.
HANZ ARAKI - Little Fires - guitar on 'Two People Blue'
Six of One Five of the Other - guitar on 'Plains of Waterloo'
ZAK BORDEN - Whistles and Steam - guitar on 'Humours of Ballyloughlin'
The Remedy Sessions - guitar on 'St Nicks / King Solomon's Reef', vocals on 'Mile Marker 23'


DANA LYONS - Producer, guitar and background vocals
'Three Legged Coyote'
'The Great Salish Sea'
KATYA CHOROVER- 'Big Big Love' - producer